top of page

2012 Scholarships Awarded

Manchester Township Educational Foundation (MTEF) is pleased to announce that six scholarship awards totaling $13,500 were presented to Manchester Township High School graduates at Senior Awards Night on May 31, 2012. The MTEF extends our sincere appreciation to the sponsors who made these scholarships possible.

The 2012 Charles J. Hesse III Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Kristen Foerg. Kristen will major in Business and Accounting at The College of New Jersey in the fall. Charles J. Hesse III was the president and owner of the Ocean County Landfill Corporation and other family-owned businesses. He is fondly remembered as a driving force behind the construction of the Manchester Little League Complex and long-time supporter of local children’s charities.

The Senior Citizens Club of Crestwood Village IV scholarships were awarded to Lauren Goldsberry and Matthew Zabiega. The Senior Citizens Club has a strong desire to support Manchester’s young citizens in their future educational endeavors. The Senior Citizens Club conducts Bingo to raise funds to support this scholarship program and other charitable projects. Mr. Jerry Carroll, President of the Senior Citizens Club, attended the May 31 Awards Ceremony. Lauren will attend Seton Hall University and major in Occupational Therapy. Matt will attend Drexel University and major in Architectural Engineering.

The Lakehurst-Manchester Lions Club scholarship was awarded to Ryan Kenny. Ryan will attend York College of PA and major in Sports Management. The local Lions Club is a member of Lions International, the largest non-governmental organization in the world providing disaster relief and charitable donations. The Lions Club participates in eyeglass recycling programs; phonic ear systems for classrooms; eye, ear and diabetes screenings, and the Eye Research Foundation.

It was with great honor that MTEF members worked alongside the Ott family in administering two scholarship awards in memory of Marine Cpl. Nicholas Ott, a 2006 MTHS graduate. Cpl. Ott made the ultimate sacrifice for his country while serving in Operation Enduring Freedom in Afghanistan in August, 2011. The Cpl. Nicholas Ott Memorial Scholarship awards were presented to Danielle Childers and Mary Kate Phillips.

The MTEF Scholarship Committee members thank all of the applicants for their participation. Students submitted applications, essays, and additional documentation for the awards. The MTEF Scholarship Committee evaluated anonymous submissions and selected nine finalists based upon the criteria for each award. The finalists were interviewed and six recipients were chosen for the awards. Selecting six award recipients was a difficult task as there were many students deserving of recognition. MTEF members wish all of the graduates of the “Class of 2012” continued success and congratulations.

Local organizations or businesses wishing to join the scholarship award program should contact MTEF for additional information at or 732-856-8331.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page